Volume: 02, Issue: 20 12/01/2004 
Astronaut Catherine "Cady" Coleman.
Expand Image
Catherine "Cady" Coleman on the STS-93 mission.
Expand Image
 
Printer Friendly Version
 
Other Articles in This Issue:
Scramjet Shatters Speed Record
Swift Satellite Soars into Space
Space Shuttle Flight Assembly Begins
A Tale of Two Moons
 

Chat Live with NASA Astronaut

NASA Astronaut Catherine G. “Cady” Coleman has logged more than 500 hours in space. Find out what it is like to be in space by chatting with a veteran of two space missions. Coleman will answer questions about spaceflight from 1:30 – 2:30 p.m. CST on Monday, Dec. 6, 2004.

What:
Live Chat with NASA Astronaut Catherine G. “Cady” Coleman, Ph.D. (Colonel, USAF)

When:
Monday, Dec. 6, 2004

Time:
10:30 – 11:30 a.m. Alaska
11:30 a.m.– 12:30 p.m. Pacific
12:30 – 1:30 p.m. Mountain
1:30 – 2:30 p.m. Central
2:30 – 3:30 p.m. Eastern

Login:
Questions may be submitted prior to or during the designated chat time. Go to www.space-explorers.com/internal/mercurious/index.asp?room=coleman2004 to begin submitting questions. The archived chat will be posted at this link after the chat takes place.

Biography:
Coleman earned a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1983. Also in that year, she was commissioned as a 2nd lieutenant in the Air Force. She was then assigned to Wright-Patterson Air Force Base in 1988. She earned a doctorate in polymer science and engineering from the University of Massachusetts in 1991.

Coleman began working at the NASA Johnson Space Center in 1992. She served in the Astronaut Office Payloads and Habitability Branch, working with experiment designers to ensure payloads could be operated successfully in the microgravity environment of low-Earth orbit. As the lead astronaut for long-term space flight habitability issues, she led the effort to label the Russian segments of the International Space Station in English and also tracked issues such as acoustics and living accommodations aboard the station.

She served as a mission specialist on STS-73 Columbia (Oct. 20 to Nov. 5, 1995), which was the second U.S. Microgravity Laboratory mission. Coleman orbited the Earth 256 times, traveled more than six million miles, and logged more than 15 days in space. She was the lead mission specialist onboard STS-93 Columbia (July 22-27, 1999), which deployed the Chandra X-Ray Observatory. A veteran of two space missions, Coleman has logged more than 500 hours in space.

Additional Upcoming Chat Information:
Space Explorers has more exciting online chat events scheduled for this upcoming year. Read more about additional upcoming chat events and view archived chats at www.space-explorers.com/internal/events/chats.html .

    
© 1997-2017 Space ExplorersTM, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
  Archived Issues Issue Index Contact Feedback Subscribe Home