Volume: 03, Issue: 02 01/26/2005 
The seven STS-107 crew members: Rick Husband, mission commander; William McCool, pilot; David Brown, Laurel Clark, Kalpana Chawla and Michael Anderson, mission specialists; and Ilan Ramon, payload specialist representing the Israeli Space Agency. Image co
Expand Image
Scott Hubbard. Image courtesy NASA/ARC.
Expand Image
Printer Friendly Version
Other Articles in This Issue:
Huygens Probe Reveals Earth-like Qualities on Titan
Opportunity Observes Unprecedented Mars Meteorite
Swift Captures the Birth of a Black Hole
Expedition 10 Crew Completes Spacewalk

Chat Live about Space Shuttle Columbia Tragedy

On Feb. 1, 2005, the two-year anniversary of the loss of Space Shuttle Columbia and the STS-107 crew, Space Explorers, Inc. will host a special chat event with Scott Hubbard, Director of NASA Ames Research Center. Hubbard served as the sole NASA representative on the Columbia Accident Investigation Board (CAIB) and directed impact testing analysis that established the definitive physical cause of the loss of the Columbia.

The chat will take place Tuesday, Feb. 1 at the following times:
10:00 - 11:15 AM Alaska Time
11:00 AM - 12:15 PM Pacific Time
Noon - 1:15 PM Mountain Time
1:00 - 2:15 PM Central Time
2:00 - 3:15 PM Eastern Time

Where to log in:
Go to http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/mercurious/index.asp?room=hubbard2005 to log in and begin submitting your questions. Questions may be submitted prior to or during the designated chat time. The archived chat will be posted at this link after the chat takes place.

Columbia Background:
The 28th and final flight of Columbia (STS-107) was a 16-day mission dedicated to research in physical, life, and space sciences. The seven astronauts aboard Columbia worked 24 hours a day, in two alternating shifts, successfully conducting approximately 80 separate experiments. On February 1, 2003, the Columbia and its crew were tragically lost over the southern United States during the spacecraft's re-entry into Earth's atmosphere. Learn more about Columbia, STS-107, and its crew members at http://www.nasa.gov/columbia/home/index.html.

Scott Hubbard's Biography:
In 2003, Scott Hubbard served full time as the sole NASA representative on the Columbia Accident Investigation Board (CAIB). He directed impact testing analysis that established the definitive physical cause of the loss of the Columbia.

Hubbard is currently the director of NASA Ames Research Center in the heart of California's Silicon Valley, with management responsibility for a workforce of approximately 4,000 people and an annual operating budget of $775 million. Hubbard is known for his innovative approach to collaborations between government, academia and the private sector, particularly as embodied by the award winning NASA Research Park development.

Prior to his appointment as Center Director in 2003, Hubbard was deputy director for research at NASA Ames. In March 2000, Hubbard was called to NASA Headquarters where he served as the first Mars program director and successfully restructured the entire Mars program in the wake of mission failures. Other key positions held include Ames associate director for astrobiology and space research; the first director of NASA's Astrobiology Institute; and NASA's mission manager for Lunar Prospector. Hubbard is also credited with conceiving the Mars Pathfinder mission. Prior to joining Ames in 1987, he was vice president and general manager of Canberra Semiconductor and a staff scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Hubbard holds a BA in physics and astronomy from Vanderbilt University and conducted graduate studies in semiconductor physics at U.C. Berkeley. He has been awarded five NASA medals: three for 'Outstanding Leadership' and two for 'Exceptional Achievement.' He has been awarded 'Laurels' by Aviation Week three times. For his contributions to the Columbia accident investigation, Hubbard received NASA's highest honor, the Distinguished Service Medal. He is an elected member of the International Academy of Astronautics; a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics; recipient of the Von Kármán medal in Astronautics; and the author of more than 40 scientific papers on research and technology.

© 1997-2017 Space ExplorersTM, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
  Archived Issues Issue Index Contact Feedback Subscribe Home