Volume: 03, Issue: 05 03/09/2005 
Cassini-Huygens mission engineer Michael Bushroe.
Expand Image
DISR team field tests a model of their instrument.
Expand Image
 
Printer Friendly Version
 
Other Articles in This Issue:
Virgin Atlantic Global Flyer Lands in Record Books
Mars Exploration Rovers Shatter Expectations
Lunar Reflectors Help Test Einstein Theory
Discovery Solid Rocket Boosters Mate with External Tank
 

Chat about Cassini-Huygens Mission to Saturn and its Moons

Feel the excitement of the international Cassini-Huygens mission by participating in a live online chat with mission engineer Michael Bushroe. Space Explorers, Inc. will host this special chat event Thursday, March 10, 2005 from 3:00 to 4:00 p.m. Central time.

Event:
Online chat with Cassini-Huygens Mission Engineer Michael Bushroe

Date:
Thursday, March 10, 2005

Time:
noon - 1:00 PM Alaska Time
1:00 - 2:00 PM Pacific Time
2:00 - 3:00 PM Mountain Time
3:00 - 4:00 PM Central Time
4:00 - 5:00 PM Eastern Time

How to submit questions:
Go to http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/mercurious/index.asp?room=bushroe2005 to log in and begin submitting your questions. Questions may be submitted prior to or during the designated chat time.

Michael Bushroe’s Biography:
Michael Bushroe currently works as part of the team overseeing the Descent Imaging/Spectral Radiometer (DISR) instrument aboard the European Space Agency's Huygens Probe. Huygens was dropped into Saturn's largest moon, Titan, on Jan. 14, 2005, where it collected better pictures of Titan's surface than mankind had ever seen. The DISR team hopes to use these images and data to better understand Titan, which has been compared to the pre-life environment here on Earth. Visit http://www.lpl.arizona.edu/~kholso/ to learn more about the DISR team's work.

Bushroe received a Bachelor's degree in mathematics and physics and a Master's degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Arizona, and is working toward a second Master's degree in Computer Science. Beginning in 1980, he also worked full time for Hughes Aircraft in a Master's Fellowship work-study program. At Hughes, Bushroe worked to design and improve automated test systems and wrote software to help project work loads and manage subcontractor accounts. He also designed some state-of-the-art electronic systems and wrote high-speed software in assembly language to simulate the optical tracking signals of the TOW missile system in real time, a feat that had never before been accomplished.

Following his work at Hughes, Bushroe worked for two years for the Army information Services Command as a sub-contractor, writing the Army's Local Area Network Design Guide. In 1994 he returned to the University of Arizona, this time to work for Dr. Martin Tomasko on the DISR project.

Additional Upcoming Chat Information:
Space Explorers has one more exciting online chat event scheduled for this school year. Read more about additional upcoming chat events and view archived chats at http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/events/chats.html .

    
© 1997-2017 Space ExplorersTM, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
  Archived Issues Issue Index Contact Feedback Subscribe Home