Volume: 03, Issue: 08 04/20/2005 
Official astronaut photo of Dr. Edward Gibson. Image courtesy NASA/JSC.
Expand Image
View of Astronaut Edward Gibson, Skylab 4 commander, during extravehicular activity (EVA) on the Skylab space station in orbit above the Earth. Photo courtesy NASA/JSC.
Expand Image
Astronaut Edward Gibson, Skylab 4 science pilot, stands at the Apollo Telescope Mount console in the Multiple Docking Adapter of the Skylab space station cluster in Earth orbit. Photo courtesy NASA/JSC.
Expand Image
 
Printer Friendly Version
 
Other Articles in This Issue:
International Space Station Welcomes New Inhabitants
Discovery Passes Tanking Test
Michael Griffin Takes Reigns as NASA Administrator
Cassini Zooms In on Titan
 

Chat Live with Former Astronaut Dr. Edward Gibson

Relive former astronaut Dr. Edward Gibsonís historic journeys into space by participating in a live online chat sponsored by Space Explorers, Inc. The event is scheduled from 1:00-2:00 p.m. Central Time on Monday, April 25, 2005. Teachers, students, and the general public are invited to submit questions to Dr. Gibson prior to or during the designated chat time.

Event:
Online chat with former astronaut Dr. Edward Gibson

Date:
Monday, April 25, 2005

Time:
10:00 - 11:00 AM Alaska
11:00 AM - noon Pacific
noon - 1:00 PM Mountain
1:00 - 2:00 PM Central
2:00 - 3:00 PM Eastern

How to submit questions:
Go to http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/mercurious/index.asp?room=gibson2005 to log in and begin submitting your questions. Questions may be submitted prior to or during the designated chat time.

Dr. Gibson's Biography:
For 21 years, Dr. Gibson was a co-holder of the American record for time in space of 84 days, set when he was the Science-Pilot on Skylab III in 1974. On that mission, he worked outside the space station for more than 15 hours during three different spacewalks.

During his 14-year career with NASA, he also served on the support crew of the Apollo 12 mission and as the ground communicator with the flight crew while they explored the Moon. He earned Air Force wings and has logged more than 2200 hours of high performance time and 100 hours of helicopter time.

Dr. Gibson earned his undergraduate degree in Engineering from the University of Rochester and an MS and Ph.D. in Engineering and Physics from the California Institute of Technology. After one year in industry, he was selected as one of the first six Scientist-Astronauts out of 2000 applicants.

After his NASA career, Dr. Gibson held marketing and program management positions with Booz, Allen and Hamilton and TRW in the areas of space and energy development. He was the President of the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry and his own consulting company, Gibson International. Currently he is Corporate Vice President, Science Applications Internationl Corporation, and Manager of its EROS Data Center Operation in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

He has performed a significant amount of speaking and writing, having published a text book in solar physics, two novels through Doubleday and Bantam (Reach and In the Wrong Hands), and edited The Greatest Adventure, a compilation of stories and pictures on space missions from many astronauts and cosmonauts around the world.

Dr. Gibson received a number of honorary doctorate degrees and national and international awards and honors, including the Robert J. Collier Trophy, the NASA Distinguished Service Medal from the President, and induction into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame.

To learn more, visit http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/events/chats.html

    
© 1997-2017 Space ExplorersTM, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
  Archived Issues Issue Index Contact Feedback Subscribe Home