Volume: 04, Issue: 17 04/19/2006 
Jan Connolly. Image credit: NASA Johnson Space Center.
Expand Image
 
Printer Friendly Version
 
Other Articles in This Issue:
NASA Achieves Breakthrough in Black Hole Simulation
NASA Mars Rovers Head for New Sites After Studying Layers
Venus Express Enters Orbit Around the Hothouse Planet
NASA's Space Exploration in Undersea Lab
 

Discuss Space Habitats with Janis Connolly

Chat Information:
Live online chat with Janis Connolly, Lead of the Systems Integration Group (SIG) for Human Factors and Human Rating on Tuesday, May 2, 2006.

Time:
10:30 – 11:30 AM Alaska
11:30 AM – 12:30 PM Pacific
12:30 – 1:30 PM Mountain
1:30 – 2:30 PM Central
2:30 – 3:30 PM Eastern

Janis “Jan” Connolly’s Biography:
Jan Connolly works at the Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas. Her job title is the Lead of the Systems Integration Group (SIG) for Human Factors and Human Rating. Jan is dually assigned to NASA's Constellation Program Systems Engineering and Integration Office and the Habitability and Human Factors Office here at NASA-JSC. Their team is responsible for making sure the hardware for humans living and working in spacecraft or habitats have all the correct standards. They do this so those who build our spacecrafts know how to build the necessary components.

Jan has had many responsibilities at the Johnson Space Center in the past 11 years - all of them dealing with the safety and productivity of human beings in space. She has been involved in the design and building of hardware for the International Space Station, led a team of designers for what is called, "habitability outfitting hardware" - galley, wardroom, hygiene facilities, and crew quarters - as well as designs for the overall internal layouts for spacecraft and surface habitats. They are currently preparing systems for when astronauts return to the Moon and then for travel to Mars.

One important aspect of her career is the mentoring of students. Jan routinely has interns in her office helping with several projects. Her interns range from high school to graduates in college, and come from the United States as well as Europe. She lectures to students, and Jan has opportunities to author papers or chapters in books. Jan’s students get to experience what working for NASA is like, and she said she is glad to share the excitement she has for the space program with them.

Jan holds Bachelor of Science degrees in Human Ecology and Architectural Studies. She also holds a Master of Architecture degree. She graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and Milwaukee. Jan’s focus has been to understand how the human being responds to the built environment, then to apply that knowledge in the design of hardware for human use. It requires knowledge of engineering to execute designs, and knowledge of psychology and human behavior to properly evaluate how people are using the environment.

How to log in:
Go to http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/mercurious/index.asp?room=connolly2006 to log in and begin submitting your questions. Questions may be submitted prior to or during the designated chat time. If you are a guest, you will need to complete a simple form on that same page. Often, students without usernames and passwords submit their questions as guests or a teacher submits all of his/her students' questions under his/her username.

To learn more, visit Space Explorers' Online Chats page.

    
© 1997-2017 Space ExplorersTM, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
  Archived Issues Issue Index Contact Feedback Subscribe Home