Volume: 04, Issue: 03 10/05/2005 
Mars Science Laboratory rover. Image courtesy NASA/JPL.
Expand Image
Dr. Ken Edgett
Expand Image
 
Printer Friendly Version
 
Other Articles in This Issue:
American Businessman Arrives at International Space Station
35-Year-Old Cosmic Mystery Solved
Cassini Doubleheader Flybys Score Home Run
Aerospace Enthusiasts Gather in New Mexico for Countdown to X PRIZE CUP
 

Learn about Mars through Online Chat

Explore the wonders of the Red Planet through a live online chat with Dr. Ken Edgett, team member for the upcoming Mars Science Laboratory mission. The chat, sponsored by Space Explorers, Inc., is scheduled from noon to 1:00 p.m. Central Time on Thursday, Oct. 13, 2005. Teachers, students, and the general public are invited to submit questions to Dr. Edgett prior to or during the designated chat time.

Event:
Online chat with Mars expert Dr. Ken Edgett of Malin Space Science Systems

Date:
Tuesday, Oct. 13, 2005

Time:
9:00 - 10:00 AM Alaska
10:00 - 11:00 AM Pacific
11:00 AM - noon Mountain
noon - 1:00 PM Central
1:00 - 2:00 PM Eastern

How to submit questions:
Go to http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/mercurious/index.asp?room=edgett2005 to log in and begin submitting your questions. Questions may be submitted prior to or during the designated chat time.

Dr. Edgett’s Biography:
Dr. Ken Edgett is a staff scientist with Malin Space Science Systems in San Diego, Calif. This small, private company employs about 30 people and builds, operates, and conducts research with cameras onboard spacecraft. The majority of the cameras have been sent to Mars, but the company presently has projects to send cameras to orbit the Moon and Jupiter as well. Dr. Edgett's main duties center on targeting Mars Global Surveyor's camera and leading the development of a new microscopic imager (called MAHLI) for the 2009 Mars Science Laboratory mission.

Ken Edgett grew up in Rochester, N.Y. Since fifth grade, Dr. Edgett's main interest has been the geology of Mars. He was inspired by the Viking landings on the Red Planet in 1976, but actually credits the Apollo landings on the Moon and an episode of the "Flintstones" (when they went to Mars) for his initial interest.

Dr. Edgett earned a B.A. in Geology at Earlham College, Richmond, Ind. (1987), followed by a M.S. (1990) and Ph.D. (1994) at Arizona State University in Tempe, Ariz. He is also interested in science education and directed the ASU Mars Education Program at Arizona State University from 1992 to 1998. With co-author Peggy Wethered and artist Michael Chesworth, Edgett is an author of TOUCHDOWN MARS, a children's book published by G.P. Putnams Sons, Inc., in May 2000.

To learn more, visit http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/events/chats.html .

    
© 1997-2017 Space ExplorersTM, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
  Archived Issues Issue Index Contact Feedback Subscribe Home