Volume: 04, Issue: 07 11/30/2005 
Astronaut C. Michael Foale. Image courtesy NASA/JSC.
Expand Image
Astronaut C. Michael Foale aboard the International Space Station. Image courtesy NASA TV.
Expand Image
 
Printer Friendly Version
 
Other Articles in This Issue:
ESA Spacecraft Makes Intriguing New Discoveries
Mars Rovers Celebrate Anniversary, Explore Possibility of Life
Venus Express Observes Earth, Moon
Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter Passes Halfway Mark
 

Chat about Spaceflight with a NASA Astronaut

Don't miss this opportunity to discuss spaceflight with astronaut C. Michael Foale, the U.S. record holder for most cumulative time spent in space. Teachers, students, and space enthusiasts are invited to participate in this exciting chat event on Tuesday, December 6, 2005.

Time:
8:10 - 8:50 AM Alaska Time
9:10 - 9:50 AM Pacific Time
10:10 - 10:50 AM Mountain Time
11:10 11:50 AM Central Time
12:10 - 12:50 PM Eastern Time

How to submit questions:
Go to http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/mercurious/index.asp?room=foale2005 to log in and begin submitting your questions. Questions may be submitted prior to or during the designated chat time.

About Dr. C. Michael Foale:
Dr. C. Michael Foale is the U.S. record holder for most cumulative time in space having logged 374 days, 11 hours and 19 minutes in space. He accomplished this milestone after his last flight, serving as Expedition-8 Commander during a stay on the International Space Station from October 18, 2003 to April 29, 2004. His six-month tour of duty aboard the ISS included one 3 hour, 55 minute space walk.

Foale is a veteran of five other space missions and three other space walks: STS-45 (March 24 to April 2, 1992), the first of the ATLAS series of missions to study the atmosphere and solar interactions; STS-56 (April 9-17, 1993) , which carried ATLAS-2 and the SPARTAN retrievable satellite that made observations of the solar corona; STS-63 (February 2-11, 1995), the first rendezvous with the Russian Space Station Mir, which included a 4 hour, 39 minute space walk; a four-and-a-half month stay aboard the Russian Space Station Mir, during which he conducted science experiments, helped reestablish Mir after it experienced a collision and depressurization, and performed a space walk; and STS-103 (December 19-27, 1999), which repaired and upgraded systems on the Hubble Space Telescope (HST). During an 8 hour and 10 minute space walk, Foale helped replace the telescope's main computer and Fine Guidance Sensor.

Foale was selected as an astronaut candidate by NASA in June 1987. He received a B.A. in Physics, Natural Sciences Tripos, with first class honors from the University of Cambridge - Queens' College. He completed his doctorate in Laboratory Astrophysics at Cambridge University in 1982.

To learn more, visit Space Explorers' Online Chats page.

    
© 1997-2017 Space ExplorersTM, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
  Archived Issues Issue Index Contact Feedback Subscribe Home