Volume: 07, Issue: 05 05/13/2009 
Michael Bloomfield - Image Credit: NASA
Expand Image
 
Printer Friendly Version
 
Other Articles in This Issue:
Final Space Shuttle Mission to Hubble Underway
Hubble Photographs Commemorate Decommissioning of Super Camera
Soft Ground Puts Spirit in Danger Despite Gain in Daily Energy
NASA's Spitzer Telescope Warms Up To New Career
Planetary Times Summer Hiatus
 

Chat with Former Astronaut Michael Bloomfield

Space Explorers, Inc. would like to announce an online chat event with Michael Bloomfield, Vice President, Constellation Systems, Strategy and Business Development, at ATK and former NASA astronaut.

DATE:
WEDNESDAY, MAY 20, 2009

TIME:
8:30 – 9:30 AM Alaska Time
9:30 – 10:30 AM Pacific Time
10:30 – 11:30 AM Mountain Time
11:30 AM – 12:30 PM Central Time
12:30 – 1:30 PM Eastern Time

HOW TO LOG IN:
Go to http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/mercurious/index.asp?room=bloomfield09 to log in and begin submitting your questions. Questions may be submitted prior to or during the designated chat time.

CHAT HOST MICHAEL BLOOMFIELD’S BIOGRAPHY:
Currently, Michael Bloomfield works as the Vice President, Constellation Systems, Strategy and Business Development, at ATK. Prior to joining ATK in August 2007, Bloomfield served as a NASA astronaut. He was the pilot of STS-86 and STS-97, and the commander of STS-110. Bloomfield logged over 753 hours in space. He also held various positions at NASA including the Chief of Safety for the Astronaut Office, Chief Instructor Astronaut, Director of Shuttle Operations, and Chief of the Shuttle Branch which oversees all technical issues for the Astronaut Office.

Bloomfield received a bachelor’s degree from the United States Air Force Academy, in mechanical engineering and a master’s degree in engineering management from Old Dominion University. In 1983, he was the Commanders Trophy winner as a top graduate form Air Force Undergraduate Pilot Training and in 1992 a Distinguished Graduate of the United States Air Force Pilot School Class 92A.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:
WHAT HAPPENS AFTER MY QUESTION HAS BEEN SUBMITTED?
A moderator will review each submitted question and select the most thought-provoking questions within the chat host’s field of expertise. Since numerous questions are submitted for each chat, we cannot guarantee that all questions will be answered or that questions will be answered in the order of submission. We will, however, try to get through as many questions as possible in the time allocated. Ask away!

WHO MAY PARTICIPATE?
Chats are open to students, teachers, and the general public. All space enthusiasts desiring to learn more about space are encouraged to participate.

HOW DO I LOG IN?
You and your students may enter your usernames and passwords to log in at http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/mercurious/index.asp?room=bloomfield09.

WHERE CAN I FIND A COPY OF THE ARCHIVED CHATS?
Space Explorers archives its online chats at http://www.space-explorers.com/internal/events/chats/ after each event.

If you have other questions regarding participating in online chat events, please e-mail pao@space-explorers.com or call Space Explorers at 1-800-965-3763.

    
© 1997-2017 Space ExplorersTM, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
  Archived Issues Issue Index Contact Feedback Subscribe Home